Need a hand?

Find what you need on the FreshBooks Support page. From Client tips to Invoice tricks and everything in between.

Rather speak to a human? Give our award-winning Support team a shout:

support@freshbooks.com
1.866.303.6061

Support Team
< Account Settings

What is active/archived/deleted?

In FreshBooks you will find that your lists are divided into three sections: active, archived and deleted. These have different functions in FreshBooks according to each status, and you can switch between these statuses by un-archiving or un-deleting most things in FreshBooks.

Archived link at bottom of invoices list.

Active

  • Fully functional
  • Active data appears in all of your lists and Reports
  • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans

Archived

  • Still active, but hidden
  • Archiving things is a great way to shorten your lists (e.g., paid Invoices can be archived and all other invoices can remain in the active view).
  • Anything archived will not appear in Invoices/Time Tracking lists, but will appear in Reports
  • Can be un-archived for later use
  • Counts towards your Client limit on all plans

Deleted

  • Will not appear in any lists
  • Completely inactive, but can be un-deleted for later use
  • Deleting Clients will not delete their past Invoices or payments associated with them.
  • Deleted Clients do not count towards your Client limit on all plans
  • Deleted Staff Members will have their time entries reallocated under you instead. No time entries logged by Staff will be deleted unless you delete them yourself
  • You can also run Reports on deleted Clients and Staff if All Clients or All Team Members are selected, but you will not be able to run any filtered reports on a deleted Client or Staff specifically

How to Archive or Delete?

To move something to the archived or deleted section, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the tab where the list is (e.g., People tab or Invoices tab)
  2. Check the box off next to the thing you want to archive/delete
  3. Click the Archive or Delete button. That’s it!

How to Un-archive or Un-delete?

To restore something back to the archived or active section, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the tab where the list is (e.g., People tab or Invoices tab)
  2. At the bottom right corner, you’ll see active | archived | deleted
  3. Click on either archived or deleted depending on what you want to restore
  4. Check the box off next to the thing you want to un-archive or un-delete
  5. Click the Un-Archive or Un-delete button. It will be restored in the active or archived section depending on what button you pressed. That’s it!

Note: You also see the button to Archive if you are in the deleted folder, and the Delete button if you are in the Archived folder as well.

Un-delete button inside deleted folder.