Need a hand?

Find what you need on the FreshBooks Support page. From Client tips to Invoice tricks and everything in between.

Rather speak to a human? Give our award-winning Support team a shout:

support@freshbooks.com
1.866.303.6061

Support Team
< Invoices

Why can’t my Clients see their Invoices?

If you’ve sent an Invoice to your Client, or your Client opens a link to one of their Invoices, and they encounter either error message:

“This invoice is no longer available. Please contact the account administrator for more information.” 

Invoice_no_longer_available_error

“Your account has been de-activated. To reactivate your account, contact your administrator at: (email).”

Your_account_has_been_deactivated_error


This can be a result of settings that are disabled or more. Below are the common issues and their solutions:


Deleted Client

If you’ve deleted the Client, they can no longer view any Invoices to them. To un-delete a Client, use the below steps:

  1. Click on the People tab
  2. Click on the deleted link in the bottom right corner
  3. Check off the box next to this deleted Client
  4. Click on the Un-delete button.

Deleted Invoice

If you’ve deleted the Invoice, they can no longer view any Invoices to them. To un-delete an Invoice, use the below steps:

  1. Click on the Invoice tab
  2. Click on the deleted link in the bottom right corner
  3. Check off the box next to this deleted Invoice
  4. Click on the Un-delete button.

Client Profile Updates

If you’ve made updates to the Client’s profile, such as changing the primary contact’s name or email, this can break all old links sent to that Client. You’ll need to re-send the Invoice to the Client so that they have a brand new link to work with. You can resend with these steps:

  1. Click on the Invoices tab
  2. Check the box off next to the Invoice(s) that the Client can’t access
  3. Click on the Send button
  4. Confirm the Send by Email option, then click Send again.

Client Invoice Permissions

If all your Clients cannot see their Invoices, you may have Invoices disabled for Client Permissions. You can turn it back on with the below steps:

  1. Go to Settings (top right corner)
  2. Click on the Permissions sub-tab
  3. Scroll to Client Tabs and ensure Invoices is checked off. If it’s not, check it off
  4. Click Save at the bottom to finish.