The Fastest Way to Invoice Your Clients

We’ve Been Cloned Again

by Jeff Sarmiento - March 21/2007

We have shown you an example of our website being cloned before, here is another that we just discovered:

http://www.greatvantage.com

I’ll take it as a compliment… I guess.

The fastest way to track your time and invoice your clients is with FreshBooks, the leader in online invoicing. Sign up for your free account!

14 Comments (add comment)

Mar 21/07
5:30 pm
Andy says:

Does it really matter?

Mar 21/07
6:35 pm
Leonard says:

Yes it does matter. How did you find this site? They almost stole your slogan too – “Painless eCommerce”. LOL! Anyway, yeah take it as a compliment. This site is very well designed and I’m not surprised that it was cloned but these clowns have taken it too far.

Mar 21/07
7:22 pm
Ben says:

Ouch. I don’t know what offends me more: the fact they’ve stolen your work, or how they’ve managed to butcher it.

Mar 21/07
8:41 pm

Mmm. Nothing says quality like leaving the anti-alias off.

Mar 21/07
8:55 pm
Scott says:

wow – I wasn’t expecting something so blatant

Can you send a cease and desist or something?

SB

Mar 22/07
12:44 am
McWebs says:

How bad does it look?

Mar 22/07
9:01 am

Thanks for the comments guys. All of us were pretty surprised when we saw it too.

Leonard: We found out because Michael noticed traffic coming from his URL in our stats. I guess he forgot to change some links when he copied our site over.

McWebs: I’ll leave that up to you guys.

Andy: I would think it does matter if you outright copy the website like that.

Mar 22/07
10:36 am
Leonard says:

lol. It’s funny that their visitors clicked on the links they forgot to change and ended up on a site that looks identical to greatvantage. Some of them might have thought that Freshbooks was a sister site since it shares the exact same design and almost identical slogan. ;)

I noticed that they have a contact page. Maybe you should send them a note and let them know what your rates are in case they decide to go for something original. ;)

Mar 22/07
11:02 am
Jamie says:

It would have been really funny if he forgot to remove the Our Team section of the site and you guys showed up there.

Mar 23/07
9:52 am

I don’t know how you being in Canada works into it, but your offender is in US. Have you registered with US Copyright office? Just 30 or 40 US bucks I think and you have added protection and damages that just the threat of should scare these copycats off. I’m certainly not pro-litigation and you don’t want to get into that, but you could send a quick note over to the copycat if you have a registered copyright. My blog entry on it is here – http://synapsoftware.com/blogit/articles/2007/02/19/software-copyright

Mar 26/07
6:53 pm
James says:

How rude!! Do these folks have no self respect? For the shame of it all. How can they even look at themselves in a mirror in the morning? (I’m lazy and I steal other people’s hard work)

Mar 29/07
7:17 am
Ben says:

I have sent them a mail letting them know how $h!t they are. LOSERS!

Mar 29/07
9:28 am

hmmmm I wonder if they’ll respond…

Apr 4/07
11:09 pm
Scott Meade says:

Took a look today and the copycat site is down for maint! Looks like it’s been taken care of.


Leave a Comment

*
* (not published)

*
* required

What is FreshBooks?

FreshBooks is an online invoicing and time tracking service that helps professionals in over 100 countries save time, get paid faster, look professional and focus on what they love to do — their work. Read our customer survey results — 99% recommend FreshBooks. FreshBooks users are served by a tight-knit team of 31 dedicated individuals based in Toronto, Canada who've been at this since 2003.
Learn More or Sign Up For FREE

Get Blog Posts